Photo for illustration (Source:

Among the countries are Austria, Poland, Portugal, the UAE, Germany, India, the Republic of Korea, Japan, US, Italy, Poland, France, China, Russia and the UK.

The resolution also makes a list of border gates and airports that will accept e-visas.

Eight airports that will accept e-visas are Noi Bai, Tan Son Nhat, Cam Ranh, Da Nang, Cat Bi, Can Tho, Phu Quoc and Phu Bai.

Sixteen road border gates listed in the new decision are Tay Trang in Dien Bien province, Mong Cai in Quang Ninh province, Huu Nghi in Lang Son province, Lao Cai in Lao Cai province, Na Meo in Thanh Hoa province, Nam Can in Nghe An province, Cau Treo in Ha Tinh province, Cha Lo in Quang Binh province, La Lay and Lao Bao in Quang Tri province, Bo Y in Kon Tum province, Moc Bai and Xa Mat in Tay Ninh province, Tinh Bien and Song Tien in An Giang province, and Ha Tien in Kien Giang province.

Thirteen sea border gates in the list are Hon Gai and Cam Pha in Quang Ninh province, Hai Phong in Hai Phong city, Nghi Son in Thanh Hoa province, Vung Ang in Ha Tinh province, Chan May in Thua Thien Hue province, Da Nang in Da Nang city, Nha Trang in Khanh Hoa province, Quy Nhon in Binh Dinh province, Dung Quat in Quang Ngai province, Vung Tau in Ba Ria-Vung Tau province, Ho Chi Minh city in Ho Chi Minh city, and Duong Dong in Kien Giang province.

Vietnam started a two-year e-visa pilot program for foreigners from 40 countries on February 1st, 2017.

The pilot scheme did not require foreigners to be sponsored or invited by organizations or individuals in Vietnam to be applicable for the e-visas, as long as they have valid passports and are citizens of one of the 40 listed countries.

Foreigners are not required to be present at representative agencies of Vietnam in their countries, get interviewed or scan their fingers to apply for e-visas.

They can go directly to the website and apply for e-visas by themselves.

Applications are processed within three working days. Each applicant will be provided with a digital code, with which they can check the application progress and print their e-visas once they have been issued.

They can also present the codes at border gates and airports for scanning of their e-visas.

The e-visas are valid for 30 days. Each applicant must pay a non-refundable application fee of USD25 via bank transfer.

The resolution will take effect from July 1st, 2020./.