Administrative map of Lao Cai province (Source:

The number of administrative units of Lao Cai province after the arrangement will keep intact eight districts and one city with 154 units of communes, wards and towns; reducing 10 commune- and ward-level administrative units.

People’s Councils, people’s Committee, Vietnam Fatherland’s Front Committees and mass organizations will be merged in the arrangement of the new administrative unit.

160 personnel at commune-level will be redundant. They will be assigned specific jobs for five years from the date the resolution on arrangement of commune-level administration unit by the Standing Committee of the National Assembly comes into effect.

The total of officials and civil servants of new administrative units will be according to Decree 34 by the Government.

The arrangement aims to organize administrative units of Lao Cai province more reasonably, suitable to the reality and development trend./.