(Photo: AFP/VNA)

Lawmakers in the House of Commons voted 522 to 13 on April 19th to support the motion put forward by Prime Minister Theresa May a day earlier.

The election will be held on June 8th, nearly a year after 52 percent of Britons voted to leave the European Union (EU).

Prime Minister Theresa May said holding an election as previously scheduled in 2020 would not give the UK "certainty and stability" as it negotiates its exit from the EU.

May's Conservatives currently hold 330 of the 650 seats in the House of Commons./.

Compiled by BTA