RoK's President Moon Jae-in (Photo: Yonhap)

Accordingly, Mr. Yoo Young-min has been formally appointed as head of the Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning.           

Yoo, who served as an executive of LG Electronics, vice president of LG CNS and chief operating officer of Posco ICT, has replaced Choi Yang-hee, who led the Ministry since July 2014 under the former President Park Geun-hye.

Ms. Chung Hyun-bac, a professor of history at Sungkyunkwan University, was appointed to lead the Ministry of Gender Equality and Family. She has been active in women’s and civil rights movements.

This marks the first time since Mr. Moon took office May 10th that he appointed new Ministers without a ceremony.

Normally, the President invites both the new Minister and their spouses to Cheong Wa Dae for an official ceremony./.


Compiled by BTA