People wear face masks to prevent coronavirus in Asakusa, Tokyo (Source: VNA)

The seven other countries are China, Australia, the Republic of Korea, Thailand, Singapore, New Zealand and Brunei.

The travel alert is downgraded from Level 3 which advises against travel to Level 2 which calls for refraining from nonessential travel.

The decision was made in the context of Japan gradually easing COVID-19 travel restrictions in a bid to revive its economy./.

CPV (Source: VNA)