The Pulitzers, the most prestigious honours in American journalism, have been awarded since 1917, often going to famed publications such as The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Wall Street Journal.

The New York Times has won three Pulitzer Prizes, for international reporting, breaking news photography and feature writing. The international reporting award for a series of reports on Vladimir Putin's efforts to project Russia's power abroad. Daniel Berehulak won for photographs that documented a violent campaign in the Philippines. And C.J. Chivers won in the feature category for a magazine piece on a veteran of the war in Afghanistan who suffered from post-traumatic stress disorder.

Besides, The New York Daily News and ProPublica won the public service award for a series on the New York Police Department’s abuse of a law to force people from their homes over alleged illegal activities.

The East Bay Times in Oakland, California, won the Pulitzer Prize for breaking news reporting for coverage of a warehouse fire that killed 36 people.

David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post won the Pulitzer Prize for national reporting for campaign reporting that cast doubt on Donald Trump's assertions of generosity toward charities./.
Compiled by BTA