Direct flight connecting HCM City with Shanghai (China) launched

Wednesday, 15/11/2023 17:03
The budget carrier Vietjet Airlines opened a direct flight connecting the two big cities of Vietnam and China on the occasion of the official visit of Secretary of the Ho Chi Minh (HCM) City Party Committee Nguyen Van Nen to Shanghai city, aiming to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the twinned relationship between the two cities.

Secretary of the Ho Chi Minh City Party Committee Nguyen Van Nen (left) and Secretary of the Shanghai Party Committee Chen Jining  (middle) congratulates Vietjet on opening the new flight route

Vietjet's Shanghai - Ho Chi Minh City route will begin operation from December 1, 2023, with 7 round trips per week.

With just over 4 flight hours for each leg, the flights meet the travel needs of residents, tourists, and businessmen of Shanghai and HCM City with convenient travel time and good ticket prices.

Shanghai is the most populous city in China, one of four centrally run cities in the world's second largest economy. Shanghai is the leading economic and financial center not only of China but also of the world. In 2022, Shanghai's GDP reaches 4,465 billion yuan (663 billion USD), with a population of 24.76 million people.

HCM City with a population of nearly 9 million people is an outstanding economic, cultural and tourist center of Vietnam as well as the region, with many unique cultural features, a bustling modern lifestyle and convenient connections to all Vietnamese and international destinations.

Vietjet has operated flights between Vietnam and China since 2014, with the first flights bringing Chinese residents and tourists to top tourist destinations in Vietnam such as Nha Trang, Da Nang and Phu Quoc.

On this occasion, Vietjet also opened a big promotional campaign with super preferential ticket prices for customers traveling to the two cities.

In addition, the new route will not only connect Shanghai with HCM City but will continue to expand Vietjet’s flight network covering Vietnam, Australia, India, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia and Kazakhstan./.