In Jakarta, Indonesia (Photo: Xinhua)

In a statement on January 14, spokesman of the Indonesian Government’s COVID-19 Task Force Wiku Adisasmito said the ban was lifted as the Omicron variant of the coronavirus has spread to about 150 countries. If the ban remains, it will make cross-border movements difficult.

All international visitors are now required to self-isolate for seven days upon arrival regardless of their country of origin.

The Philippine Government has also decided to shorten quarantine time for COVID-19 patients with mild symptoms to seven days from 10 days.

The Manila authorities also allowed the suspension of online learning within a week till January 22 amid a spike in infections related to Omicron variant.

At present, about half of the Philippine population are fully vaccinated./. 

CPV (Source: VNA)