Nepal’s newly-elected Prime Minister K. P. Sharma Oli (AFP/VNA)

Accordingly, Mr. K. P. Sharma Oli appointed Mr. Ishwar Pokharel (CPN-UML) as Defence Minister, Dr Yubaraj Khatiwada (CPN-UML) as Finance Minister, Mr. Ram Bahadur Thapa (CPN-Maoist Centre) as Home Minister and Mr. Matrika Yadav (CPN-Maoist Centre) as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies.

With the induction of four new ministers, the Cabinet now has seven ministers including the Prime Minister. After his appointment as Prime Minister on February 15th, Oli had formed a small Cabinet by appointing Mr. Lal Babu Pandit as Minister for Population and Environment and Mr. Tham Maya Thapa as Minister for Women Children and Social Welfare.

Nepali President Bhandari had appointed Mr. Oli, the Chairman of the CPN-UML Party, as the 41st Prime Minister of the Himalayan nation, on February 15th. Mr. K. P. Shar Oli succeeded Mr. Sher Bahadur Deuba of Nepali Congress Party, who had been in power since June 7th, 2017./.

Compiled by BTA