The swearing-in ceremony will take place on January 31th.

King Muhammad V in a parliament meeting on July 17th (Source: AFP) 
The meeting was attended by six rulers, except Ruler of Pahang who was unable to attend due to health reasons and Ruler of Selangor who is currently out of the country.

They expressed respect for King Muhammad V’s decision to resign and lauded his contributions to the country as head of state.

King Muhammad V, Ruler of Kelantan, became the 15th head of state of Malaysia in 2016. He was due to finish his five-year tenure in 2021, but on January 6th, the Malaysian royal announced his official abdication.

He had previously also taken two months leave, during which, Deputy Nazrin, who is also Ruler of Perak, served as acting king./.