Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro (right) has been sworn in for his second six-year term (Photo: AFP/VNA)

Thousands of his supporters convened for the ceremony in the capital Caracas, as Nicaraguan President Daniel Ortega, President of Bolivia Evo Morales and Cuba’s President Miguel Diaz-Canel also attended the ceremony.

In his remarks, Maduro vowed to continue the socialist revolution under way for two decades.

In May 2018, President of the National Electoral Council of Venezuela Tibisay Lucena said that head of state Nicolas Maduro had been re-elected.

According to a bulletin issued by the National Electoral Council, with 93% of the ballots counted, Maduro won with 5,823,728 votes, or 68% of votes cast, to second-place finisher Henri Falcon's 1,822,552, or 21%. Third-place finisher Javier Bertucci, an evangelical pastor, got 921,042 votes, or 11%.

On May 20th, more than 20 million Venezuelans began to cast votes to elect their President from three candidates for a new six-year term.

The elections were initially scheduled for December, then changed to April 22nd, then delayed again to May 2018.

Nicolas Maduro, born in 1962, has been the President of Venezuela since President Hugo Chavez died in 2013. He previously served under President Hugo Chavez as Minister of Foreign Affairs from 2006 to 2013, and as Vice President of Venezuela from 2012 to 2013./.

Compiled by BTA