Prime Minister Hwang Kyo-ahn (Source: Yonhap/VNA)

Earlier, Prime Minister Hwang Kyo-ahn, who has also been acting president since December 2016, said he would not run in the Election.

The election was originally scheduled to be held on or before December 20th, 2017, but was moved after the decision of the Constitutional Court to uphold the parliament's impeachment of Park Geun-hye.

Moon Jae-in for the Democratic Party of Korea and Ahn Cheol-soo for the People’s Party, likely contenders of the 2017 election, have not yet confirmed their candidacy as of March 2017.

Moon Jae-in, who lost the 2012 Presidential Election to Park, is the favorite to be the country's next leader in opinion surveys./.

Compiled by BTA